For Emergencies in Canda and the US Call or Text

9-8-8

Icon for talk sucide Canada, containing their Number 988 for their hotline.

Anxiety’s Super Power

A kid on a city block wearing a cape and a mask over his eyes.

Have you ever gone to bed not thinking about who likes you or who doesn’t only to wake up the next morning feeling like you’re not like by a single soul?  Or do you ever feel like everything you do, you’re just going to suck at? Does the phrase “I can’t do it” go through your head when you are attempting to complete a task. it’s anxiety, and it casts a shadow of doubt on every step we make, at least I feel like it does.

Anxiety, signs and symptoms.

In my experience, it can creep up on you like a mental monster in the night. I’m just going along, minding my business, then BAM! A thought scurries across my cortex like a mouse running from a cat. It just randomly tells me I’m not good enough. That’s anxiety, an unwanted partner that has invited themselves down The Road To Mental Wellness with me.By times, anxiety is so influential in my everyday life, that I start to slip into my other road trip partner, depression. Depression takes control and says, “We’ve had enough!” and hits the kill switch and takes me out of commission. A lot of times I lack the motivation to get out of bed, little lone travel down the road to wellness. I just can’t handle the everyday riggers of life and the anxiety voice all at the same time.

Signs and Symptoms of depression.

There is a silver lining in all this mental mess. For me, it comes in two forms; Cognitive behaviour therapy and Mindfulness. Both of these are very different approaches to better mental health nonetheless, they are very effective. Mindfulness teaches one to stay in the moment, to be present. and cognitive behaviour therapy helps identify inaccurate thoughts and how to deal with them.

Anxiety is all about being stuck in the past or ruminating about the future, once I realized the key elements that set my anxiety afire, I could recognize the key elements that were starting to invade my mind. When I start to feel like no one likes me, I now know that this anxiety talking (cognitive behaviour therapy). and I then I regroup and refocus, staying in the moment that I am in (Mindfulness).

I may be nowhere near where I need to be at the moment, but using these fundamental tools help me overcome the angst I am feeling when I am in places I have control over or nowhere to retreat to.

So, If your struggling and feel like you’ve tried everything, give therapy and mindfulness a try. They may very well be the tools you’ve been looking for.

if you are suffering from PTSD or another mental illness, please reach out. I thank you for your service and you are still worthy and mean something. I believe in you!


If you are struggling please go here: Crisis Services Canada


Want help fund my book? donate: GOFundMe – The Road To Mental Wellness – The book

You may also enjoy: Slowly Walking My Way To Mental Wellness.

Contact me on my Facebook page: facebook.com/TRTMW
Check out my friend’s blog here: anewdawnaa.com

 

 

Please leave a comment and tell us what you liked about what you read.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.