Follow Us

Categories

Buy The Road To Mental Wellness

Author Jonathan Arenburg standing with his arms crossed on the right hand side of his book with the title off to his left written in black colour.

About Jonathan

Media/Speaking Inquiries

Jonathan’s Author Page

When Mental Illness Catches Up

Person laying in the shade with a book over their face - -When Mental Illness Catches Up

As of late, my depressive and traumatic episodes have been really intense. Even so, when mental illness catches up, I know it’s only temporary.

Follow us

Now that I have logged some serious time in psychotherapy, I can take time to review how far I have come or haven’t. While I choose to focus on my hard work and progress, I do look at both. Why? Well, if I don’t, how will I evaluate how therapy is helping me overall? My trick here is to not ruminate on what’s not working and celebrate my gains.

One of the major accomplishments is being able to cope, most of the time; in low- stimulus environments. I achieve this through the use of mindfulness. I can keep going as long as the noise and environment aren’t constantly buzzing with activity. This is of course assuming that I’m having a good day to begin with. It doesn’t always work, but it often does. The key here is “It often does.”

The Way I Deal With Pain

However, lately, I feel like I am losing the war. I am way more agitated than, well, ever. And if that weren’t enough, my depressive episodes are more severe -not good! But am I really losing, or is this what happens when mental illness catches up?


Front and back cover of the road to mental wellness - 8 sings your relationship is hurting your mental health.
Want to get the complete Audiobook version Free! Go to our Homepage and use the Scriber form to receive our newsletter. Boom the book is yours.



For me, this is also another benefit of therapy. I have learned that, while I may be experiencing more intense episodes, they are but momentary; they will subside. And it’s true, when mental illness catches up with me, I have always been able to overcome. How? Through the power of acknowledgement. “Okay, so I’m having a really rough go; just give yourself permission to say I am.” Then the next question becomes “Practice your mindfulness skills. Close your eyes, breathe in through the nose and out through the mouth; make yourself aware of where you feel tight in your body, loosen up.” I know that I am not under any real threat, but my body thinks I am, so I call attention to both my mental feeling in the moment and my physical discomfort from it.

So, remember, when mental illness catches up, try not to feel like you failed. Rather, admit to yourself that it is happening, and use coping skills like mindfulness to manage your way through it.

Follow us

Responses

  1. Consequences Of Being Busy – The Road To Mental Wellness Avatar

    […] task-driven, Tasmanian devil-like whirlwind really be that great of a thing? What about those with mental illness? Similarly, is it proper to assume that, like cars coming off an assembly line, we are all designed […]

    Like

  2. Work To Pave New Roads – The Road To Mental Wellness Avatar

Please leave a comment and tell us what you liked about what you read.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.