Follow Us

Categories

Buy The Road To Mental Wellness

Author Jonathan Arenburg standing with his arms crossed on the right hand side of his book with the title off to his left written in black colour.

Self-care is important but be aware

Women having a bubble bath looking relaxed - Self-care is important but be aware

In this day and age, it should go without saying that selfcare is essential for one’s wellbeing. Whether you have a mental illness or not, taking time for yourself can help manage the stressors of everyday life. So yes, Self-care is important but be aware……….

Self-care is important but be aware Can too much self-care stunt our progress? Some would say there’s such a thing as too much of a good thing.

Follow us

While it’s true that life can beat the heck out of you, it’s equally true that we allow it. With that said, there are many stressors beyond our control: work, traffic, how people respond to you, etc. Such a heavy burden on one soul.

But when was the last time you did something, you love? How long has your passion been sitting there in the back of your mind collecting dust? There is good news, you not only have the power to answer these questions, but you also have control over what action you take. You can take up the thing you love again, or not, it’s up to you. Although the latter is likely the less healthy of the two.

Download the audiobook version of the book, The Road To Mental Wellness FREE (CH’s 1 through 5 Here)

For many, the answer probably goes “Oh God, I can’t remember the last time I read a book.” Of course, the preferred downtime method varies depending on who you are, but the effects of deprioritizing time for oneself are similar. Increasing levels of anxiety and depression are two of the most common effects.

So, for me, the question becomes “What is driving this self-neglect?” In my view, the answer is guilt – at least in part. We feel guilty if we say no to someone, especially to those we love. It can feel as if we are doing something wrong when we say no. And I would argue that yes, we are indeed doing something wrong. We are needlessly punishing ourselves for the sake of others. To say, “I need time for me” isn’t wrong. In fact, it’s the opposite of wrong. (This of course assumes that you aren’t too involved with you meeting your own needs all of the time! As with many things in life, there is a need for balance.)



Selfcare is important but be aware

While there can be no doubt that we run around, fulfilling the needs of everyone around us – boss, kids, partners, etc. – and that we often take a backseat doing it, there also can be such a thing as too much self-care. For example, sometimes, looking after yourself can involve taking time in bed because of your depression. However, how long is healthy? Where does one draw the line between self-care and damaging oneself in and the relationship they have with others?

That’s the very reason I say self-care is important – but be aware. When you are depressed, you can fall victim to its exhausting powers, and stay in bed for too long.

I can’t say what is too long for one person or another. In saying that, I do feel like there is a limit to taking care of oneself. Afterall, after a certain period of time, self-care could stifle recovery. Why? Well, as far as I can tell, too much of a good thing, can become a crutch not a tool for healing.

To be clear, self-care should always be ongoing, I feel however, that the proper type of continual care for yourself includes things like good diet, appropriate levels of exercise, connection with others and so on. I do all these things, but I am constantly evaluating whether I have become the only thing in my life that matters. Hahaha! Hey, it can happen.

“I set limits”

I have major depressive disorder. This mental-health condition can put me down and out several times a year. Thankfully, knowing my limits has helped me minimize depression’s mindset. While knowing my limits is important, it’s equally important that I set limits within these depressive states themselves. How? Well, I give myself permission to go to bed, forget about the outside world and let the exhaustion overtake me.

Front and back cover of the road to mental wellness - 8 sings your relationship is hurting your mental health.
Want to get the complete Audiobook version Free! Go to our Homepage and use the Scriber form to receive our newsletter. Boom the book is yours.

But is this self-care? For me, the answer is yes – but only because I set an upper limit of three days. After that, I roll myself on the floor and start my day. (Note: when I do this, I always feel better.) However, If I used self-care as an excuse to keep myself in bed longer, I would slip in a sea of darkness. The exact opposite of what self-care is designed to do.

/spa

On the road to mental wellness, this would be the equivalent of turning around and going back the way I came. I don’t know about you, but I never want to go backwards. It’s hard enough having PTSD and reliving those most traumatic of moments.

The takeaway? Many of the coping skills we deploy to help us win the daily struggle have their own limitations. Not enough self-care? We can edge ever closer to a disability. Too much self-care? It can allow our mental illness to hold us captive. In my view, it’s all about finding a healthy balance.

Now, you can listen to our posts – go to our Audio blogs page.

“Our goal should always be to strive for the happy stretches that we are blessed with. That’s why self-care is so important”

– Jonathan Arenburg
Did you like Self-care is important but be aware? Then you’ll enjoy Trending Buzzwords?

Self-care is important but be aware – copyright 2021

Follow us

Responses

  1. The real roots of anxiety - Avatar

    […]     Prioritize self-care: Engage in activities that you enjoy, spend time with supportive friends and family, and take time […]

    Like

  2. How mental health affects physical health - Avatar

    […] can have a positive impact on physical health. When we prioritize our mental health by practicing self-care, seeking therapy, or engaging in stress-reducing activities, we can improve our overall health and […]

    Like

  3. How to Build a Mental Health First Aid Kit - Avatar

    […] is indeed golden, it can do more harm than good. Especially if one uses it as their primary means of self-care. Why? Because humans are wired for connection to other humans. It’s how you and I and everyone […]

    Like

  4. Bumps In The Wellness Road. – The Road To Mental Wellness Avatar

    […] They have many requirements and loopholes; it is not an easy process. It’s enough to even raise the anxieties of the healthiest folk; if you don’t battle for it, you lose the opportunity to win what you need. I decided that I would take them on when I was able, when I felt strong and mentally up for the task. This has to be, like so many other things in my life, a priority of self-care. […]

    Like

Please leave a comment and tell us what you liked about what you read.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.